Help us protect Louisiana's children. Report Child Abuse & Neglect: 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437) toll-free, 24 hours a day, seven days a week
Mandated Reporter Training Available on DCFS Website
August 01, 2013
08.01.13 - As a new Louisiana state law goes into effect on August 1, 2013, requiring mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect to undergo training, the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) reminds the public that online training is available on its website at no cost.
August 1 Brings Changes to Louisiana Safe Haven Law
July 31, 2013
07.31.13 - Effective August 1, a parent can use the Louisiana Safe Haven law to relinquish a baby up until they are 60 days old. Previously the age limit was 30 days.
More Than 95,000 Reports Assessed in Two Years Since DCFS Launched Child Abuse Hotline
July 26, 2013
07.26.13 - As the statewide, toll-free child abuse hotline - 1-855-4LA-KIDS (1-855-452-5437) - nears the second anniversary of its implementation, the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) has assessed more than 95,000 reports of suspected child abuse or neglect.
DCFS Implements Continuous Quality Improvement Team
July 19, 2013
07.19.13 - The Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) today announced the implementation of its Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) team. CQI is part of DCFS' ongoing commitment to excellence, implementing and evaluating best practices in Louisiana's child welfare program, and building on successes.
DCFS Announces Domestic Violence Funding
July 11, 2013
07.11.13 - The Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) is funding 18 domestic violence service providers across the state based on the previous year's funding amounts, and for the first time takes into account the size of the population served, square miles covered and the quality of the service provided.
Louisiana Enacts Juvenile Justice Licensing Standards
July 01, 2013
07.01.13 - Effective today, July 1, 2013, all juvenile detention facilities in the state of Louisiana are now licensed and inspected by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS). Today marks the first time that juvenile detention facilities in the state have been required to be licensed.
DCFS Warns of Safety Risks Associated with the Summer Months
June 21, 2013
06.21.13 - With summer temperatures consistently in the mid 90s across Louisiana, the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) reminds parents and caregivers to take extra precautions with summer safety, particularly regarding the risks of heat stroke and drowning.
DCFS Encourages Residents to Pre-Apply for Disaster Food Assistance as Hurricane Season Begins
May 31, 2013
05.31.13 - Hurricane season officially begins June 1, and the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) is encouraging residents to prepare by pre-applying online for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits (DSNAP), formerly called Disaster Food Stamps.
DCFS' Adoption Reunion Registry Reconnects Adoptees and Biological Families
May 24, 2013
05.24.13 - Adoptees and birth families who wish to reconnect with, or find information about, their biological families can easily join the Adoption Reunion Voluntary Registry through the Department of Children and Family Services' (DCFS) website.
DCFS in Need of Additional Foster Families
May 17, 2013
05.17.13 - As part of Foster Care Awareness Month, as proclaimed by Governor Bobby Jindal for May, the Department of Family and Children Services (DCFS) is focusing its efforts on recruiting new foster families. The effort is part of the Faith in Families initiative, which seeks to identify and encourage potential foster families and promote adoption of foster children. As of April 30, 1,944 foster homes in Louisiana were serving 4,002 foster children.